Skip to main content

You’ve been in a car accident.  Now what? Many issues need to be dealt with immediately following a car accident.  From insurance companies, police, and repair shops, it can all be overwhelming   If you or a loved one is injured due to an accident, all these things can seem even more daunting.  Before tackling some of these tasks, consider hiring a car accident attorney as one of your first steps.  A car accident lawyer can help you navigate the process from start to finish.  To begin fighting for any compensation, you or your attorney needs to access your car accident report.

When Can I Access My Accident Report In Collier County?

As of June 5, 2001, vehicle accident reports are no longer public records in the state of Florida or Collier County, for up to 60 days after the report is filed.  The accident report is however made available to the following:

  • All parties involved
  • Their legal representatives
  • Their licensed insurance agents
  • Their insurers
  • Persons under contract with such insurer to provide claims or underwriting information
  • Prosecutorial authorities
  • Radio and television stations licensed by the FCC
  • Newspapers qualified to publish legal notices (with exceptions, per Florida law)
  • State and Federal agencies are authorized to have access to such reports by the provision of the law

The intent of this regulation is to protect the privacy of those involved in the vehicle crash and reduce solicitations from car accident lawyers.

What Do I Need to Access My Accident Report in Collier County?

When requesting a copy of your accident report within those 60 days, you are required to present credentials or identification to get access to the requested car accident report. Generally speaking, if you were a victim in a car accident, you should be able to get access to your report using your driver’s license. However, you may also be required to submit a if you are using the statewide Florida Crash Portal to get your information.

For other people who may need access, accepted identification or credentials include:

  • Driver’s License or government-issued photo ID
  • Signed and notarized letter from an involved party authorizing the pick-up of the accident report on their behalf
  • Letter from an attorney that represents the party involved in the accident
  • Formal written request from an insurance company on their letterhead
  • Written proof demonstrating the party is under contract with an insurer for the accident report requested
  • State or Federal credentials or licenses
  • As approved by a supervisor in the Records Section

Ways to Get Your Accident Report for a Crash That Happened Here in Collier County

If you were involved in a car accident in Naples, Marco Island, Immokalee, Golden Gate or any other Collier County city, there could be a few different ways to access your accident report within the 60-day window. Depending on the law enforcement agency that responded in your auto accident, you could have more than one way to get the information you need.

Florida Crash Portal– Due to Florida regulations, the state operates a centralized database of crash reports. Generally speaking, for any car accident that occurs in Florida, you should be able to use the Florida Crash Portal to access your accident report within the 60-day window. This is the main car accident report website for the Florida Highway Patrol. However, Florida also requires all local law enforcement to submit a full report within 10 days to the portal in the following scenarios:

  • A car accident involving a personal injury or death
  • A crash involving a hit and run
  • An auto accident in which a DUI violation is suspected
  • When a crash leaves a vehicle inoperable requiring a tow truck
  • A commercial vehicle or truck accident
  • An accident that results in damages to vehicles or personal property valued at $500 or more

These car accident reports are available online. The Florida Crash Portal charges $10.00 for each report and a $2.00 transaction charge for each online transaction.

In some cases, your car accident may not qualify for the Florida Crash Portal, or you may need more evidence or records from the responding law enforcement agency. Each law enforcement agency’s records request process is slightly different. You can use these Quick Links below to get more information on accessing local law enforcement records or accident reports.

Collier County Sheriff’s Office– If the responding agency for your car accident was the Collier County Sheriff’s Office, it may be easier and cheaper to get your accident report directly from to the Sheriff’s Central Records Bureau. Two locations are available for in-person requests:


Collier County Sheriff’s Office

Central Records Bureau
3319 Tamiami Trail East, Naples, Florida 34112

Hours: Mon – Fri, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.


Requests by mail should be sent to this location


Collier County Sheriff’s Office

Immokalee Substation

112 South First Street, Immokalee, Florida 34142

Hours: Mon – Fri, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.



There is a $2.00 charge for up to eight pages. Requests can also be made by mail. Accident reports over 60 days old or other public records can accessed online. For more information about obtaining incident reports or car accident records in Collier County, call 239-252-0637.


Naples Police Department– If the wreck you were involved in happened in the City of Naples, you can obtain accident reports in person, by phone or by mail. Nominal service fees apply for most requests. Please be sure to have the “case number” available to obtain your accident report.

Naples Police Department
Records Services
355 Riverside Circle
Naples, FL 34102
Hours: Mon – Fri, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.

(239) 213-4890 Phone
(239) 213-4899 Fax

  • Find out more about getting accident reports from the NPD


Marco Island Police Department – For car accidents handled by the City of Marco Island Police Department, public records and accident reports can be obtained in person at the police station.

Police Station

51 Bald Eagle Drive

Marco Island, FL 34145


Central Seminole Police Department– For car accidents that occur on Immokalee Seminole Reservation, reports can be obtained from the Central Seminole Police Department. All requests for public records and accident reports must be submitted in writing using a specific request form, and could take up to 30 days for delivery. Responses are available via email, regular mail and overnight mail. Different fees may apply depending on the type of response requested.

3101 North State Road 7

Hollywood, Florida 33021

Hours: Mon – Fri, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.



  • Find out more about getting accident reports from the Seminole PD




Car accidents can be overwhelming from the beginning.  Sean King Law is experienced in assisting victims of Florida car accidents.  Today’s economy has made it more difficult than ever for accident victims to fight claims independently.  We want to ensure that every accident victim can receive compensation.  We, at King Law, understand that this process is challenging.  We can provide creative and innovative ways to achieve your goal.  For questions regarding your next stops, contact Sean King Law.



For years, King Law has been known for tireless dedication to serving those who have suffered a personal injury or wrongful death of a family member due to someone else’s neglect.  We pride ourselves on each client receiving the culmination of our legal experience, our professionalism, and our commitment to each case in determining their course of action. King Law, champions for the injured. Contact us today!


13410 Parker Commons Blvd.

Suite 101C

Ft. Myers, FL 33912


3757 Tamiami Trail North

Naples, FL 34103